Digital Health Award

Digital transformation: for a strong healthcare
in NRW and Europe

We are pleased to present the Digital Health Award for the second time as part of the congress under the patronage of Minister Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Minister for Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitization and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

The award honors innovative projects in the field of digital health care. The application phase starts on Monday, October 11th, 2021.

Digital Health Award 2021

“The digital transformation holds enormous opportunities for health care. To unlock this potential, we need good ideas and innovative solutions. T

he Digital Health Award offers the opportunity to make the potential of the dynamic start-up scene visible and thus send an optimistic and inspiring signal, especially in the pandemic situation”.

Minister Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart

Minister of Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitization and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

The jury for the Digital Health Award

We value an independent evaluation by the jury members without any influence of political, ideological or personal relations. In case of possible bias, jury members are excluded from the evaluation of the respective project.

Prof. Dr. Carina Benstöm, Scientific Director of the Innovation Center Digital Medicine (IZDM) at University Hospital Aachen – as representative of science

Dr. Andreas Rothgangel, Mentor & Coach Digital Health Start-ups Healthcare Living Lab, Düsseldorf, Fieldlab Inkubator Qeske, NL/digitalHUB Aachen e.V., Research Centre for Nutrition, Lifestyle and Exercise, Zuyd University, NL  – as representative of the European start-up scene

Rainer Beckers, Managing Director of  ZTG Zentrum für Telematik und Telemedizin, Member of the Board of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Telemedizin (DGTelemed) – as representative of the organizers and telemedicine expert

Prof. Dr. Sabine Bohnet-Joschko, Project Management “Digital Healthcare Industry NRW – Innovation and Digital Transformation in Healthcare (ATLAS-ITG)” – as representative of the North Rhine-Westphalian healthcare industry

Prof. Dr. med. Gernot Marx, FRCA, Chairman of the Board of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Telemedizin e. V. (DGTelemed) – as representative of the organizers



Dr. Henrik Matthies, Managing Director hih – health innovation hub – as representative of the German digital and healthcare industry


Dr. Nora Benhabilès, Member of the Supervisory Board of EIT Health, Director of External Cooperation and Industrial Partnerships in the Fundamental Research Department of the Commission for Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies (CEA) in France – representing EIT Health

Dr. Iwan van der Horst, Academic Hospital Maastricht – as a representative of the medical profession

The realization of the Digital Health Award is supported by EIT Health Germany.

EIT Health is an EU-funded networking initiative, founded in 2015 and consisting of more than 150 partners. Leading companies, public health institutions and renowned universities and research institutes from a total of 14 EU countries support each other in a “public-private partnership” in the development of innovative programmes and projects to promote healthcare within Europe.